Vacation Aftermath: Fails Included.

So, as promised, I would be remiss not to take a peek at the things I think I did poorly/well on vacay and look at the possible implications for other busy times. I’ll start with major fails.

1. I ate some of this:

A "chocolate bag."

This is a chocolate bag. It is a bag. Made of chocolate. It is filled with custard and berries that I doubt count as a serving of fruit. I did split it 4 ways, but still. A chocolate bag.

2. I also ate some indulgent meals, including this delish piece of pizza which was roughly the size of my torso from D’Bronx in Kansas City:

Not pictured: Willpower.

I only had one and I ate it slowly, but this should give some idea of the vacation foods that found their way into my repertoire. This is like a 2-day period.

3. I drank some Diet Cokes (mostly at movies, but I realized when I said we hardly ever see movies I was definitely delusional as we saw about 4). I also had a few cups of coffee (2, to be exact) because my mom buys the good stuff and I LOVE COFFEE.

4. HFCS. Just whoa. This is way too hard while traveling, even with access to a kitchen. It’s in everything. I’d like to say I tried to limit it, but if I did it was in the most round-about and incidental ways possible, like trying to eat non-processed foods when I could.

5. I did get a little exercise-lazy. Yeah, we walked, but none of it felt particularly strenuous. I did wrestle Louie out of bed for exercise time some mornings, but equally as many times, we made excuses. A day guest pass to my mom’s gym is 15 dollars! PER PERSON. I know. If we had gone every day for the 2 weeks we were home, it would have been $210.00. There are worse ways to spend that, but whoa.

6. I did hit the Wendy’s to bust a hangover and followed that up with a chili dog. I also did a lot of late-night nomming when we were out drinking. I’m going to need to get the drunk-eating in check.

Major successes?

1. I DIDN’T SMOKE. Not one time. Not even when other people were around me. Not even when I drank. This confirms my suspicion that I needed to be ready to quit, but once I was ready that could do it. I am not saying it wasn’t hard. It was totally hard. It was not, however, impossible, and if I got through that I think I can get through anything.

2. I mostly switched to water and iced tea. I know that iced tea is questionable on the caffeine thing, but it’s better than all that artificial sugar that makes me so hungry. I think I can make Diet Coke and coffee special occasion treats that only come around maybe once a week at the most. I’m proud of that because it’s a DRAMATIC decrease in my consumption of both.

3. I moderated many of my restaurant meals. Louie and I split entrees and ordered veggie-packed salads with no cheese and dressing on the side to fill up before digging into less-healthy entrees. I did feel like a tool, but you can’t argue with feeling full and content but not ready to go into a coma after dinner. I also enjoyed wine, but I traded some good glasses of wine for the bread plate and dessert and only had one of the three.

4. I drank a lot of water and made sure to keep hydrated so I didn’t just mistake thirst for hunger.

5. We started a walking habit. We’ll see how that goes.

6. We ate a few healthy meals whenever we had control, like veggie scrambles for breakfast (protein and veggies!):

Magically delicious.

So I’m home, and … I’ve definitely had worse vacations for my health. I think we did do a few key things that cut down on the unhealthy vacation behaviors that we usually indulge in. This had an impact. My shorts are looser than when I left. I was energized enough to wake up yesterday and do stuff. I definitely feel nothing like the sore-joints, mood-swing zombie that left debate camp. I’m more even tempered. It might be a placebo, but it’s a damn good one.

 

 

About laurencleansup

I'm Lauren. I'm in my mid-20's, post-grad school, seeking employment, and trying to break my million bad habits. Fan of pop culture, bad music, Cleveland sports, and the internet.
This entry was posted in Caffeine, HFCS, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

