Busting Vacay Brain?

Soooo … I’m back. I haven’t posted in awhile because if Missouri was a whirlwind then Ohio was a hurricane. We were so busy every waking moment wedding planning, catching up with family, and introducing my family to Louie’s family that I hardly remember sleeping.

I’ll post a more extensive recap later, but I think I’m going to dedicate this post to emerging from the vacation mindset.

What is the vacation mindset? It’s the relaxed, celebratory, one-more-glass-of-wine-won’t-hurt-me, I-only-get-to-eat-this-when-I’m-home-so-I’d-better-eat-nine feeling that vacation engenders. I think both Louie and I indulged a little bit at home in good wine, too many restaurant meals, etc.

I will give the caveat that we were really good about walking almost every day, split most dinners, and mostly only ate what we were hungry for. As always, I’ll recap what I think we did well and poorly in a separate post, but back to my point: I needed to ditch the vacay mindset and I was worried about it.

Nothing historically throws me off track like a vacation or a holiday. I stop working out because I’m tired from travelling, the house gets cluttered with my not-yet-unpacked bags and I settle into sweatpants while I embrace a few days of “recovery” which I’m always convinced I need. This often translates into eating crap because there is no food in the house (icing on the self-destructive cake, if you will … I am awful with metaphors) This is often also the product of hangover/tired munchies and a few days of eating with some abandon.

I think I’m doing okay thus far. We went to the grocery store as soon as we got home, even though it was 10:30 at night (which I of course bitched about but begrudgingly did). This set me up for a nutritious HFCS-free breakfast of organic milk and Kashi with some sliced bananas. I ate a salad for lunch topped with hot sauce instead of dressing. I went to the store after and bought some healthy snacks.

I also got our bags unpacked and started the laundry, which helped me transition out of vacay brain. Huge victory. So we’ll see. I do hear my sweatpants calling my name, but I have no Haagen Dasz or Sonic to pound down while vegging out in them. I’d say this has gone about 88% well.

This time, though, credit goes to Louie for ensuring that

About laurencleansup

I'm Lauren. I'm in my mid-20's, post-grad school, seeking employment, and trying to break my million bad habits. Fan of pop culture, bad music, Cleveland sports, and the internet.
This entry was posted in Update, Vacation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

