Vacation Update: Mexican, Movies, and Tapas.

What up, Internet. So, I did go to the gym last night. It was good — I did the elliptical for an hour then cooled down on the treadmill. I rediscovered my love for working out to Robyn, whose music is just as badass now as it was when I was in college.

Conclusion # 1 — I am out of shape and this exercise thing is dire. I am sore from one hour on the elliptical, people. Whoa. But it’s a good sore and I like how I feel today. More exercise is in my future.

Conclusion # 2 — I need to figure out this strength training thing. I’ll rip a workout out of Self and try it because I just did cardio yesterday and I need to firm up.

So, I tackled my arch-nemesis yesterday: Mexican food. When Louie suggested Mexican food, I was like yikes. I love Mexican food an unhealthy amount. I love salsa, cheese, refried beans, chips, the whole deal. I didn’t know if my weak-willed soul was ready, especially after the gym (I get hungry after working out) and especially after I had cashed in a lot of willpower at lunch. I could just feel the thoughts creeping in: “You worked out!” “You ate healthy earlier today!” I always ruin any healthy eating plan with feelings of entitlement and deserving it. Here’s why I think I was so successful (because I consider this Mexican restaurant foray a huge success):

1. On the advice of Louie’s mom and sister, I ordered the naked burrito (it was burrito Thursday, so it was a deal!). It was lettuce, chicken, tomatoes, whole beans, and I think a little bit of parmesan cheese. It was a lot of good protein and veggies and plenty filling. I got the Mexican flavor without ordering my cheese-filled rich favorite with refried beans: the chicken sour cream enchilada (which I love, but I can’t do in moderation.) I also saved money.

2. I ate enough chips to feel like I’d had some but stopped before it even made a dent in my hunger. Because they are an APPETIZER. I used to just NOM chips until I was practically full when my food came and then eat all my food, too. I had five chips broken into pieces with salsa and one dipped in queso. I stopped way before the food came and was just like, that’s enough, you have more food coming in a minute. Yes, I could have skipped the chips, but … better, not perfect.

3. I drank water, not a margarita.

I didn’t get a picture, but I had plenty of my burrito/salad hybrid left over that I took it home and ate it with some scrambled eggs and peppers for breakfast. I DO have a picture of that:

Breakfast Eggs

Having leftovers? Solid.

So, I’m pretty jazzed about it because instead of eating all of my dinner, I ate a reasonable amount, was full but not stuffed, and had enough to finish it for breakfast. Louie and I split that! It really drove home just how much food restaurants GIVE you. I ate that dinner for two meals and split one of them and was full. I need to start bringing home a portion; that way, if I want it later, I can have it so I don’t feel deprived but I don’t need to eat it all right there.

I’ve also been snacking on this:

Watermelon

Farmer's market melon!

That said, we also went to the movies last night. I also planned the same as I did last time: three handfuls of popcorn and a little Diet Coke. I may need to re-think movies as a special occasion, though, because we’ve been going so often.

Tonight I think we’re going to get Tapas at this place in Kansas City. I’ll post pictures and hopefully eat in moderation/healthfully. I’ll try to figure out what lessons I can take from this later, but I wanted to let you all know that I’ve been planning and being mindful, even up to tackling some of the foods I don’t do a good job with.

About laurencleansup

I'm Lauren. I'm in my mid-20's, post-grad school, seeking employment, and trying to break my million bad habits. Fan of pop culture, bad music, Cleveland sports, and the internet.
This entry was posted in Caffeine, Uncategorized, Update, Vacation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

