Vacation Update: I Effing Exercised!

I. Effing. Exercised. Not incidentally walking to somewhere I was going anyway, not counting doing laundry, I effing exercised. I exercised in the way that you like lace up your tennis shoes and go outside wearing workout clothes and a sports bra and carrying a bottle of water and purposely sweat it out for more than like 5 minutes. I did it and I’m excited.

Yeah, so I know that many of you will be like “Yeah, awesome … I do that every single day and I feel no need to alert the Internet.” I used to be like you, so listen up:

I confess I was a former Smug Exerciser. In high school and college, I was a gym rat. I loved the social aspect of going with my friends, loved the personal goals I could set, loved the relaxed feeling I got afterwards, and, shamefully, I loved the feeling of superiority it gave me when I darted back into the apartment with a towel and a water bottle to think judge-y thoughts about my roommates or friends om nomming cookie dough and watching ER (yeah, I was kind of a bitch and karma and stuff). I also loved having the freedom to indulge in one of my life’s great loves (food and drink) with a little less guilt.

So why did I stop? Well, a million reasons. Chiefly among them, I wasn’t really getting what I wanted out of my competitive debate career in college at the end of it, and I felt like I needed to devote every waking second to changing that (which failed, and should have been a lesson to me that neglecting your health is never worth it). After that I moved to a new city. I started grad school. I got into an awesome relationship where I no longer felt like I needed to do the single-girl body obsession thing (which may indicate I was exercising for all the wrong reasons).

I was busy but more than being busy, I FELT busy. I was overwhelmed a lot in work and at school and I just never had the energy.

More reasons include but are not limited to:

1. I AM NOT a natural athlete. I am in no way someone who can expertly step aerobic(s? is there a verb form?), run a 10-minute mile with perfect form, or execute blissful yoga poses while looking all glow-y and magazine-like (although my balance is awesome, weird talent, whatever). I am an UGLY exerciser. I am always sweaty, red-faced, and making it look exactly as difficult as it is. That can be intimidating in classes or gyms where, even though I know better, I assume everyone is looking at ME.

2. I’m a procrastinator by nature, which is deadly to going to the gym. I always put it off until it’s too late in the day and they’re closed and/or I’m sleepy.

3. I always feel entitled to days off. I don’t do the work to make the time on vacations and work trips, so I fall out of a pattern and I can never fall back into one.

So, today lacing up my shoes was a big step because I overcame all that nonsense. I am on vacation and I exercised. Here. In the nature. In hot weather. With hills. I DID that. If I can just bottle how awesome I feel for having made the effort and the time, I think I would never skip it again. As soon as I get past my three weeks on smoking and caffeine and HFCS, I’m going to start formulating some exercise goals with the real reasons why I don’t exercise in mind, but until then, I’m just going to try to do it. Because I can. And I will.

About laurencleansup

I'm Lauren. I'm in my mid-20's, post-grad school, seeking employment, and trying to break my million bad habits. Fan of pop culture, bad music, Cleveland sports, and the internet.
This entry was posted in Update, Vacation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vacation Update: I Effing Exercised!

  1. Coach Lee says:

    You effing did it! Always great to hear people taking control of their fitness even when it’s not easy or second nature for them =D. Good luck with the smoking and caffeine thing to, keep bringing it!

Leave a Reply

