Vacation update: Farmer’s market win!

Hey all! So it’s been a few days since I posted (including one day when I actually did and my post didn’t show up . . . I’m assuming user error is to blame). I’ve been on vacation with my fiance and his family! They have a lake house and it is totally amazing. We’ve been swimming, walking, and boating all day and having nice low-key nights (last night we watched a movie).

That aside, I was dreading the food situation. First, I love summer vacation food: pasta salad, hot dogs, hamburgers . . . really any “-salad” that has a lot of mayonnaise and deliciousness. I also know that the last time I was at the lake house, I was doing great with healthy eating and totally de-railed myself on chips, dips, picnic salads, cookies, etc. I understand that this does not HAVE to be the result, but I was worried about a test of my resolve so early, especially when I’m trying not to smoke.

I’m happy to report a few major victories:

1. I resisted the temptation to eat fast food after the car trip here! Huge win, considering I forgot to pack snacks and was star-ving.

2. I have been able to eat the mayo-free pasta salad in moderation and enjoy it without over-doing it.

3. I’ve been filling up on farmer’s market fresh produce that is starting to taste better and better to me now that I’ve eliminated over-sweetened processed cookies and cereal bars.

4. We’ve been having some veggies with filling fiber at every single meal. I had gotten to the point where I was so over zucchini on the grill and I couldn’t make myself eat it, but now that I’m eating more fresh produce it somehow tastes really good to me again.

5. I haven’t smoked a single cigarette.

6. Or had any diet soda or coffee.

7. I make sure we WALK to the dock and walk back instead of taking the golf cart. Yesterday we swam for awhile without the floaties to get our hearts pumping.

8. I’ve been drinking moderately, enjoying it, maintaining my water consumption, and never getting hung over. I’m proud of that because I love beer + lake. Coors Light 4 Life.

 

I also have to confess a few major fails:

1. I have not been doing as well with the HFCS. I had some in a bun for a (turkey, at least) bratwurst. I also didn’t check the pasta in the pasta salad.

2. A lot of the activity I’ve been doing is purely incidental. Yes, I’m choosing to walk and swim further, but I haven’t been carving out daily exercise time.

3. I’m letting job-finding stress get to me a little. It’s made me want to nom like crazy, and I pretty much suck at meditation. Like, I try, but I mostly meditate on why I suck so much at meditating and only think about things like “Why do I suck a meditating.”

4. I need to be better with the sunscreen. I’m not fried, but I am a little red and I need to get over my desire to be tan.

Sidenote: Does anyone know if natural chemical-free sunscreens really work? Because toxins are the worst, but I have a family history of skin cancer so I’ll take the toxins to stay sunburn-free.

I need to keep this strategy going. We’re going out to dinner tonight, my first foray into the restaurant world since this all began. I’m going to try my best to maintain satiety all day with fruits and veggies so I don’t show up ready to nom the table and chairs, and I’m going to let go of all my baggage regarding special orders. I read an article that if you want to be healthy, you have to be kind of a pain in the ass to people sometimes. That’s another post, but I think I’m going to put it to good use here.

Wish me luck!

About laurencleansup

I'm Lauren. I'm in my mid-20's, post-grad school, seeking employment, and trying to break my million bad habits. Fan of pop culture, bad music, Cleveland sports, and the internet.
This entry was posted in Caffeine, HFCS, Smoking, Update, Vacation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

