Detox update: More energy, better mood.

So, this is day 3-4 of my post-debate camp detox (limit caffeine and HFCS, eat more whole foods, no smoking) and I’m already noticing some positive changes and some challenges.

Disclaimer: 100% of this could probably be attributed to either the placebo effect or to getting more sleep/going out less. But whatever. Let me think I’m a health genius.

Positives:

1. I have a ton of energy. I didn’t even take an afternoon nap today and I had planned on one. I didn’t need it. I also woke up this morning and exited my daze rather quickly (for me) to have a productive afternoon.

2. I’m in a good mood. Coffee overload sometimes makes me snap at people, so I lost that. I’m also not battling gross sore throat from nicotine or spending every moment annoyed that I’m not outside smoking/stressed that the kids at camp will SEE me outside smoking/smell smoke on me. Finally, I’m not creaky-joints dehydrated, which probably helps.

3. I’m not so HUNGRY. Like, when I was eating a bunch of junk my blood sugar must have been roller-coaster-ing because I was hungry all the time. I was hungry right after I ate. I could hardly make it through 2 hours without wanting to nom things. I would sneak vending machine chips. Lunch salads with chicken get me through to dinner like it’s no thing.

Negatives:

1. I still feel a reflexive urge to smoke cigarettes when I’m outside. It just feels like I should be. I walked about 20 minutes from my car to teach today and not having a cigarette along for the ride felt like I was cheating myself out of my pre-teaching relaxer.

2. I still crave sweeter, saltier things. I hope my taste buds re-orient eventually, but damned if a giant slice of pizza doesn’t sound so so so delicious right now in a way that a slice of green pepper does not. I have to stop writing about it. It’s killing my feel-good vibe.

3. I miss feeling zippy. I have a lot of energy, yes, but it’s not that manic, take-over-the-world coffee energy that makes me feel like I could basically interpretive dance the Odyssey by Homer and write 90 Ph.D. dissertations. It’s a mellow energy. Nice, but not the same.

I need to get over the negatives and to do that I need some strategies. Brainstorming.

About laurencleansup

I'm Lauren. I'm in my mid-20's, post-grad school, seeking employment, and trying to break my million bad habits. Fan of pop culture, bad music, Cleveland sports, and the internet.
This entry was posted in Caffeine, HFCS, Smoking, Update and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

